Post your own variations of this scam in the comments below to help others. We will remove your personal information if you forget when submitting.
Website: www.hkipnet.org
Email: Jane@sk-dns.hk
Website: www.sknetservice.org
China Net Technology Limited
Email: Liza@netinchina.org.cn
KEVIN KE
+ e-mail:kevin.ke@mp-china.org.cn
Website: http://www.mp-china.org.cn
And many more variations of this…
This scam first started in 2006, took a break for a few years, and has now resurfaced, much to the confusion of business owners and domain name owners everywhere. The scam takes advantage of people not familiar with trademark, copyright, domain, or Chinese law.
First email:
consigned Yuan Cheng Investment co.,Ltd to register these domains? Or are they your subbranch?
Second email:
Thanks for your mail. During the audit process, we found “” has been registered by your company, so we have the responsibility to inform you about this issue.
You have confirmed that you have no relationship with them,according to our working experience, there are 2 possibilities:
1. Register these names before you and sell back to you to gain profits.Or,sell these domains on internet.
2. Utilize your company’s reputation and influence to develop their own business.
According to international domain registration principle, the domain takes open registration to the public, so YuanCheng has right to apply for any domains available.
As a domain registrar, we have no power to reject their application.
As the owner of keyword “”, you will get the priority to register these domains.
If you attach importance to these, I am glad to help you protect these domains for you within dispute period, and this is the only way to prevent domain grabbers.
Could you please kindly check by return in time? So we can deal with this matter effectively.Thanks.
Third email:
Hi ,
As you know the Domain name takes open registration. This is international domain name registration principle.
For example,Google company’s domain names google.com.cn & google.cn had been registered by other company.
Of course,Google company want get their domain names back through arbitration,litigation,and other legal means,but wasting time and efforts,
but Google company failed, at last Google company had paid 1 million dollars to get the two domain names back.
If you think domain names be held by them will make impact on you, I suggest that you’d better preserve these domains within dispute period, which is the
only way to prevent domains from being grabbed.
Have you decide to register these domains?pls confirm.thanks.
Regards,
Fourth email:
Hi ,
Trademark and domain name are two different things .
One company named Yuancheng wants to register the following domains rather than “yourdomain.com” or Trademark.
yourdomain.asia
yourdomain.cn
yourdomain.com.cn
yourdomain.com.hk
yourdomain.com.tw
Have you decide to register these domains?
Certainly, if you don’t need these domains.
Regardless of any effect on your company, we will not bear any legal responsibilities. If you have any questions, please kindly reply us ASAP. Thanks!
Regards,
Fifth email:
Hi,
Thanks for your mail. During the audit process, we found “yourdomain.com” has been registered by your company, so we have the responsibility to inform you about this issue.
You have confirmed that you have no relationship with them,according to our working experience, there are 2 possibilities:
1. Register these names before you and sell back to you to gain profits.Or,sell these domains on internet.
2. Utilize your company’s reputation and influence to develop their own business.
According to international domain registration principle, the domain takes open registration to the public, so YuanCheng has right to apply for any domains available.
As a domain registrar, we have no power to reject their application.
As the owner of keyword “yourdomain”, you will get the priority to register these domains.
If you attach importance to these, I am glad to help you protect these domains for you within dispute period, and this is the only way to prevent domain grabbers.
Could you please kindly check by return in time? So we can deal with this matter effectively.Thanks.
Regards,
Claire Jiang
Sixth email:
Hi,
As we haven’t got any information from you until now,does which means you give them up?
If you are not interested, we will complete their registration,If they use the domain name to imitate your company in the future,Or pointing to an illegal website,
This will directly damage the reputation of your company. We will not take any responsibility.
Please consider and reply me as soon as possible.
Regards,
Claire Jiang
Additional email variation:
Subject: The Confirmation and Protection of Intellectual Property
Dear CEO,
We are a domain name registrar centre in HongKong, and in charge of the registeration in Asia,We have something important need to confirm through your company.
We received a formal application from a company called “Ply International Holdings Ltd” applying to register
Internet trademark:
my-domain
And the domain names
my-domain.asia
my-domain.cn
my-domain.com
my-domain.com.cn
my-domain.com.tw
my-domain.hk
my-domain.net.cn
my-domain.org.cn
my-domain.tw
in China and also in Asia on Jun.20 2008.
During our auditing procedure we find out that the alleged “Ply International Holdings Ltd” has no trade mark,Intellectual property, nor patent even similar to that word. As authorized anti-cybersquatting organization we hereby suspect the alleged “Ply International Holdings Ltd” to be a domain grabber. Hence we need you confirmation for two things,
First of all, whether this alleged “Ply International Holdings Ltd” is your business partner or distributor in Asia
Secondly, whether you are interested in registering these domains. (The alleged “Ply International Holdings Ltd” will be entitled to obtain a domain not needed by original trademark owner.)
If you are not in charge of this please transfer this email to appropriate dept.in order to deal with this issue better, please let someone who is responsible for trademark or domain name contact me as soon as possible.
Best Regards,
Jane
Another email chain variation #1:
Dear President/CEO,
We are a domain name registration service company in Asia, which
mainly deal with international company’s domain name registration
etc….
Another email chain variation #2:
Dear —,
Thanks for your response.
We knew you have registered the domain name “—–.com” and own the intellectual property, this is why we informed you. But other domain names and internet trademark you have not registered yet.
Now HKMILI Holdings Limited wants to apply the following domain names and internet trademark:
1. Domain Name:
—.asia —–.biz —–.cn ——.com.cn
—-.hk —–.net ——.tw ——-.us
2. Internet trademark: ——-
You must know Domain name and Internet trademark takes open registration,this is international domain name registration principle. So HKMILI company has right to register them. As a domain name registrar, we have no right to dispute their application. So required by China government to inform your company to protect your interest.
So expect your definitude direction.If you don’t think their application will affect your company, you can give up these domain name and internet trademark, we will finish their registration. Because HKMILI company want to register these names.
But if you think these domain names are useful for your company, we can send an application form to you and help you register these within dispute period. Because you are the owner and you have the priority of registration.
Pls let us know your decision soon, so that we can handle the next step.
Best Regards,
Michael.Hu
Confidentiality Notice: If you are not the addressee you may not copy, distribute or perform any other activities with this information. The information contained in this e-mail is intended only for the party to whom it is addressed. This e-mail may contain confidential information. If you have received this transmission in error, please notify us by e-mail immediately.
West Technology Limited
发件人:
发送时间: 2009-05-21
收件人: michael.hu
抄送:
主题: Re: — Trademark Urgent Message (To CEO)
Another email chain variation #3:
Dear —,
About the these domain names and internet trademark “—-”, pls let us know your decision. If you give up, we will help HKMILI Holdings Limited register these domain names and internet trademark,Because HKMILI company want to register these names and he today call us for this issue, so we need your affirmation.
But if you think these domain names and internet trademark “—–” are useful for your company, we can help you,we can send an application form to you and help you register these within dispute period.
Pls let us know your decision soon, so that we can handle the next step.
Best Regards,
Michael.Hu
Confidentiality Notice: If you are not the addressee you may not copy, distribute or perform any other activities with this information. The information contained in this e-mail is intended only for the party to whom it is addressed. This e-mail may contain confidential information. If you have received this transmission in error, please notify us by e-mail immediately.
West Technology Limited
Tel: 00852 95 660 205 / 00852 95 660 103
Fax: 00852 30 197 872
E-mail:Michael.hu@dnrcenter.hk
Web:www.wtl.hk.cn





hey thanks for contacting me but no pic? Can you send one when you reply I really wanna see what you look like first k.
